INTRODUCING: Oscar Mild offer a breath of fresh air with first single ‘Sit Right’

The brilliantly named Oscar Mild are a newly formed four piece progressive folk band hailing from Galway, Mayo and Roscommon. Led by vocalist and main songwriter Philip Mc Mahon with Sean Wynne on drums, the band are a regular pedigree of the west of Ireland’s musical heritage. Joe Padfield, former front man of the fantastic math rock group ‘Race the Flux’ takes up lead guitar as well as overseeing the recording/production/mixing of the bands upcoming debut EP ‘The Boy Who Fell From the Sea’. Tomas Concannon, the former frontman of Galway alt-rockers ‘Ka tet’ completes the line up on bass.

The band have just released their first single ‘Sit Right’ on the new Galway indie label Umbrella Records.

Sit Right starts off simply with a catchy and effective acoustic guitar line, but it quickly sets itself apart from your general folk tune with the addition of lush vocal harmonies and lots of underlying sonic textures. The chorus section is a surprising and welcome lift, further adding to the vast dynamic range on display here. The bright sounding second guitar and shuffling drums compliment Philips gorgeous lead vocal throughout.

Overall an extremely promising start from the Connacht natives, I look forward to seeing what else they’ve got to offer!

Keep up to date with Oscar Mild on: