Stream: Only Rivals debut EP ‘Details’

Only Rivals

Dublin based Alt Rock band Only Rivals released their debut EP ‘Details’ last month and I just got around to listening to it. If the 5 tracks on this offering are anything to go by you can expect big things from these guys in the future. Full of huge choruses and a great use of dynamics.  The band have just completed a UK and Irish tour supporting All Time Low. Check the EP out for yourself below, for fans of Brand New, Blink 182, Saves the Day and The Get up Kids.

Check Only Rivals out on:

Forbidden Fruit reveals first round of acts playing on Saturday 31st of May


Forbidden Fruit have revealed the first round of acts playing in the grounds of The Royal Hospital Kilmainham on Saturday 31st of May. So far the lineup includes:

Early Bird tickets are on sale now at €49.50 for Day tickets and €99 for Weekend tickets.
Keep up to date with Forbidden Fruit on:


Video: Watch John Grant perform Glacier with a little help from Sinead O’Conner and Conor O’Brien

If (like me) you weren’t lucky enough to get tickets to John Grant’s sold out show in the Olympia last Monday, then you likely missed this brilliant rendition of his song Glacier, which is made even better by guest vocal harmonies from none other then Sinead O’Conner and Conor O’Brien(Villagers). Luckily, thanks to the wonder of modern technology, a fairly good quality bootleg has appeared on YouTube. Check it out above.

You can check John Grant out on:

The Orchard acquires Balcony TV


US digital distribution company The Orchard has acquired Balcony TV for an undisclosed amount.

The Irish company Balcony TV was founded by Stephen O’Regan and 2 friends in June 2006 and started out on their apartments balcony in Dublin. Balcony TV videos have hit 50 million views, 10 million of those in the last 12 months.

Since starting out, Balcony TV has expanded to include 43 major cities in 31 different countries around the world

In 2013 BalconyTV received $750,000 from Polaris Venture Partners, Lerer Ventures and Greycroft Partners. It has also been supported by Enterprise Ireland.

Commenting on The Orchard acquisition Mr O’Regan stated:
“This is about investment in the future and that’s what I was really looking for. We needed more resources to be able to run a global international music network. Orchard will give us the support we need in terms of development and design.”

Mr O’Regan said he had moved to New York to work for the Orchard who will retain the BalconyTV brand.

“When I look back over the years and think about bands like Little Green Cars, Kodaline and the Script, who are all doing so well, it’s great to think we had them before anyone else”

Sony Music Entertainment is a strategic investor in the Orchard, which was founded in 1997 to distribute independent music. The Orchard operates in 25 countries.

Seven Quarters, a new night in Whelan’s plans to press limited 7″ vinyl of unreleased tracks from performers for the first 150 people in the door.


Seven Quarters is an exciting new club night starting this April in Whelan’s of Wexford Street, as part of the venue celebrating its 25th anniversary this year. The official launch is Friday April 25th with a double headline show featuring the extremely talented Katie Kim and Jennifer Evans.

Seven Quarters is different from any other club night happening in Ireland, as they will be giving punters a different limited edition seven inch vinyl, featuring previously unreleased tracks, from the artists performing each night. This seven inch vinyl will be given away for free to the first 150 people in the door as part of the €10 entry.

Seven Quarters is a new project by Barry Lennon (Richter Collective, Community of Independents and Hands Up Who Wants To Die) and is set to feature some of the most exciting acts in the Irish music scene.

I couldn’t be more excited about this, I love vinyl, especially splits between bands and the fact that they are very limited makes them all the more special.

You can check Seven Quarters out on:
Facebook//Facebook Event Page//Twitter

Check Katie Kim out on:
Facebook//Bandcamp//Breaking Tunes//Soundcloud

And Jennifer Evans on:
Facebook//Twitter//Bandcamp//Breaking Tunes//Soundcloud//Web

New acts announced for Longitude Festival

Longitude Festival have announced the latest rounds of acts who play in Marlay Park from July 18th-20th. The new acts announced are:

  • Massive Attack
  • Rudimental
  • The 1975
  • Banks
  • Parquet Courts
  • Krystal Klear
  • O Emperor
  • Eagulls
  • Ry X
  • Say Lou Lou
  • Son Lux
  • Josef Salvat
  • Samaris

Add these to the already stellar lineup of:

  • Disclosure
  • Haim
  • Bombay Bicycle Club
  • First Aid Kit
  • Icona Pop
  • James Vincent McMorrow
  • John Talabot
  • Bastille
  • Chvrches
  • Hozier(who’s Whelans show this Thursday sold out in seconds)
  • Sam Smith
  • Bonobo
  • Julio Bashmore
  • Cyril Hahn
  • Le Galaxie
  • Bondax
  • Roosevelt

and it’s sure to be a great weekend. The day by day breakdown so far is:

Friday:Ben Howard, Bastille, Bombay Bicycle Club, Icona Pop and George Ezra

Saturday: Disclosure, Haim, Chvrches, The 1975, Sam Smith and Hozier

Sunday: Massive Attack, James Vincent McMorrow, Rudimental, First Aid Kit and Banks

Tickets are on sale now priced at €149.50 for Weekend tickets and €59.50 for Day tickets. If last years festival is anything to go by then it’s sure to be a sell out event.


Video: Swords release video for new single ‘Hips’ on Smalltown America

Dublin band Swords have released a new video for their single ‘Hips’. The video was directed by Neil Hoare and features Katie McCann & Barry Tallon. The song comes out on Northern Irish label Smalltown America Music with whom the band signed a publishing deal last year. The slow piano driven song builds to a satisfying peak without ever breaking into full swing. The track was produced by Karl Odlum.
You can check Swords out on:
Breaking Tunes



Stream: Neil Adams of Cast of Cheers releases new album from side project Extra Fox

Cast of Cheers guitarist Neil Adams has released a new album of ambient electronic tracks under the moniker Extra Fox(formerly Kuma Hana). This follows a video release of one of the tracks ‘Fountain’ in January.

The 11 track album ‘Axe & Extra Fox’ is available to download on Bandcamp, and you can name your price, so there’s really no excuse!

You can check Extra Fox out on:


Video: Dott release new video for ‘Talk to you’ and embark on a US Tour

Galway band Dott have just released a new video for ‘Talk to you’ from their début album Swoon. It’s release coincides with the start of the bands US tour which sees them travel coast to coast visiting 6 states and includes 4 dates at SXSW (Two with Ireland’s own FMC and two with the bands US label Graveface Records)

The video was directed and shot by Nigel Gilhooly, Derek Donlon and Darragh O’Connor at Bu Shoe Productions.
You can check Dott out on:
Breaking Tunes


Video: The Hot Sprockets release video for upcoming single ‘Homeslice’

The Hot Sprockets have revealed a fantastic new video for their upcoming single ‘Homeslice’ due for release March 7. The single, taken from their forthcoming second album ‘Brother Nature’ is a much slower, chilled out number than some of their previous offering like ‘Comin On’ or ‘Soul Brother’ and it serves to showcase the bands talent for eclectic songwriting. The video was directed by Dublin actor/director Hugh O’Conor. ‘Brother Nature’ drops on June 7th, and I for one can’t wait!

You can check the Hot Sprockets out on:
Breaking Tunes